Thunderstorm Appreciation

           I was just woken up by a hailstorm. Fortunately, my munchkins slept through it, but other parents might not be so lucky. Some kids get afraid of storms. Maybe mine will be, someday.

When I was a kid, my mom used to worry that my brother and I would be afraid of thunderstorms when they happened at night. So if she was still awake or it woke her up, she would come with a lighted candle. I might stay in my room with the candle, or sometimes we got up, snacked on Ramen noodles, watched TV, or somehow seemed to make a party of the storm. I still like thunderstorms.

So last night when we had some thunder and lightning before we got my son to bed, I took him outside (it wasn’t raining yet) to show him the lightning. He had been noticing the thunder while we were inside. So we stood outside and watched the light show, and when the thunder sounded, I made up a little chant for him: “Boom-ba-boom-ba-boom-ba-boom-ba-THUNDER!” That made him giggle.

If there is an astronomy lesson here, I suppose it is this: If you can’t be with the sky you love, love the one you’re with. 🙂

This entry was posted in Cloudy Sky Activities, Weather and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thunderstorm Appreciation

  1. Christina Smith says:

    Are you tired of my comments yet? Your entry is really sweet.

Leave a Reply

